SICP Accreditation Panel

Chairperson Ms Hwang Yu-Ning, FSIP 

Chief Planner and DCEO, URA

SICP Council Members


Mr Jacks Yeo,

Deputy Executive Director, Dsg


Mr Fong Chun Wah, MSIP

DCEO (Building), HDB

Alternate, Dr Chong Fook Loong, MSIP

Group Director (Research & Planning), HDB

Mr David Tan,

Assistant CEO, Development Group, JTC


Ms Yvonne Lim,

Group Director Physical Planning, URA

Mr Low Cher Ek,

CEO and Global Lead, Township

Surbana Jurong Pte Ltd


Dr Liu Thai Ker, FSIP


MORROW Architects & Planners Pte Ltd

Alternate, Ms Ou Kenan, MSIP. Director, MORROW Architects & Planners Pte Ltd

Prof Heng Chye Kiang, MSIP

MUP Programme Director

School of Design & Environment, NUS

Alternate: Dr Zhang Ye

MAUD Program Director, SDE, NUS.

Mr Wilfred Loo, FSIP

President, SIP

Ms Evlyn Cheong, FSIP

Chairperson, SIP Certification Committee

Immediate Past President, SIP

Mr Yio Yang Huat, MSIP.

Direct from membership

Alternate Louise Feng Luye, MSIP

Duties of Members of SICP- Accreditation Panel
  • The term of appointment is for a duration of three years beginning 1 Oct 2021.
  • To advise on the professional development of urban planners based on the competency framework agreed upon between SIP and Esg
  • The Chairperson will be not be from the SIP Council and need not report to the SIP Council. The appointee shall have the width and depth of planning experience and expertise to lead the first term of the SICP-Accreditation Panel.
  • The Chairperson shall take the chair at all meetings of the SICP-Accreditation Panel, and shall regulate the proceedings.
  • The Chairperson shall proactively and diligently lead the SICP-Accreditation Panel to advance the objectives of the SICP and act in the best interests of the SICP.
  • The SIP President in the absence of the SICP Chairperson shall preside in her/his place.
  • SICP Panel Members shall dedicate themselves to proactively and diligently work with the Chairperson to advance the objectives of the Institute and act in the best interests of the SICP.
  • The SICP- Accreditation Panel shall meet as often as business of the Institute may require, but at least once in every three months; and at every meeting not less than half of the members of the Voting Council shall constitute a quorum. No less than 7days’ notice of the meeting shall be given.
  • Subject to the approval of the SICP-Accreditation Panel. members may attend SICP Meetings through electronic communication means.

Voting Rights: Each of the members shall have one vote.

Expert Resource Panel
This panel only advises the SICP and does not have voting rights. Members are invited to attend on matters in their respective areas of expertise.

Royal Town Planning Institute (as consultant)

a. Advise on standards of professional conduct and ethics
b. Advise on accreditation assessment including examination and portfolio review
c. Advise on best practices within RTPI
d. Advise on procedures on accreditation of planning degrees at universities
e. Advise on the review of the framework of the accreditation programme, if required.

Where necessary, we will also consult the American Institute of Certified Planners (AICP).

The Hong Kong Institute of Planners (HKIP) will be consulted as and when required.

Similarly, a Fellow of SIP will be part of the Expert Resource Panel to share experiences in urban planning practice both within and beyond Singapore. 

SIP Certification Committee

a. Develop Professional Development Units (PDU) programmes based on the competency framework agreed upon between SIP and Enterprise Singapore (Esg)
b. Develop Accreditation examination and evaluation criteria
c. Evaluate the competency of accreditation candidates, by examining the exam application documents, written examinations and interviews.
d.  Advise on the administration of the accreditation office.

Certification Office

The office will be supported by executives. The functions are to

a. Assist the Committee to manage the various aspects of Accreditation process.
b. Keep and maintain a listing of Certified Planners.
c. Liaise with Accountant on monthly financial matters.
d. Consolidate and compile data for management reporting.

Introduction of New Membership classes

The SIP Constitution has been amended at EGM 2021 to create 2 new classes of membership for this Certification project:

  • Member of Singapore Institute of Certified Planners (SICP)
  • Recognised Planning Firm (RPF)

Schedule of meetings

Project Year






Year 1

(1 Sep 2021 – 30 Sep 2022)

Meeting #1

Meeting #2

Meeting #3

Meeting #4


Year 2

(1 Oct 2022 – 30 Sep 2023)

Meeting #5

Meeting #6

Meeting #7

Meeting #8


Year 3

(1 Oct 2023 – 30 Sep 2024)

Meeting #9

Meeting #10

Meeting #11

Meeting #12

Download Appendix 1